Paul Weller Reveals Details Of Next Album!

Following on from the huge critical and commercial successes of his last two albums, The Modfather isn’t wasting any time with his next release, telling Q Magazine he expects it to be completed by March and ready for release sometime around August or September.

2008’s ’22 Dreams’ and 2010’s ‘Wake Up The Nation’ were described by many as his best work since his early solo days when he penned modern classics like ‘Wild Wood’ and ‘Stanley Road’ but Weller isn’t taking anything for granted and is continuing to follow the model of his most recent work and incorporating a wide variety of influences and genres into the new album.

As yet untitled, Weller says that despite having only spent 8 days working on the album so far it’s close to being complete and he already has the eleven tracks that will make up the record. He’s also confident there will be a couple of singles; including one they’ve already trialled at live shows

“There’s one called ‘That Dangerous Age’ that we’ve been playing live that’s a mega tune with a funk edge to it. We did a couple of brand new tracks this week and they both sound like singles to me”

The album is being co-produced and co-written with Simon Dine (who also worked on 22 Dreams) and Weller describes the album as containing ‘strong, melodic pop, but mixed with electronic elements.’

Weller himself admits he’s hit an unusually prolific spell of writing but insists it’s an organic process saying he didn’t particularly have plans for a new album but once he started a few demos things snowballed from there and now he’s just months away from his 3rd release in 4 years.

When asked about a tour to promote the album he was less committal although suggested he is likely to get back on the road in 2012. ‘Probably next year. I want to get off the merry go round for a while and spend more time with my kids. And I want to record more. I want to do something a bit experimental – proper instrumental soundtrack music for an arty, European film.’

Be sure to check back to Stereoboard.com for a confirmed release date and tour when they are announced.

Tracks for the currently untitled album are:

That Dangerous Age
The Attic
Be Happy Children
Around The Lake
Paper Chase
Sleep Of The Serene
No Need To Be Alone
When Your Garden’s Overgrown

From Stereoboard.com

1 comment

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: