The Jam

Setting Sons Super Deluxe Edition Out Monday, 17 Nov!


Universal Music will release a Super Deluxe Edition of The Jam’s 1979 album, “Setting Sons,” on Monday 17 Nov! 

– One of the most popular bands to emerge from the English punk rock scene of 1977; The Jam had a phenomenal impact on pop music and wider youth culture. In their short career, along with the Sex Pistols, The Clash, and Buzzcocks, they influenced a generation with their music, style, politics and inspiration.

Taking creative direction from a wide sphere of influences – The Who, Dr Feelgood, The Kinks and Motown to name a few, they achieved 18 consecutive Top 40 singles in the UK (including 4 number 1s) – they had a fanatical following, their singles entering straight in the top 10, or number 1 in some cases. Their gigs sold out within minutes.

Still beloved of original fans and new supporters through Paul Weller’s solo career – he still plays many of the Jam songs in his live sets today.

Released at the end of 1979, Setting Sons reached number four in the U.K. and for many fans and critics it defines the classic ‘Jam sound.’

It was initially conceived as a ‘concept’ album, with a distinct link between key songs – Thick As Thieves, Wasteland, Burning Sky: this idea may have seemed strange to the band’s hardcore fans, but had a precedent with some of Weller’s 60s heroes, notably The Kinks, Small Faces and The Who. Setting Sons took The Jam’s musical template and added a narrative depth and compositional daring which would take their art to a totally new level.

The anti-war song Little Boy Soldiers, constructed in three parts, illustrates how the band were moving into a more experimental and ambitious style, whilst retaining the muscular edge for which they were so famous. The album includes the hit single – The Eton Rifles, Bruce Foxton’s tour-de-force Smithers-Jones and live favourite, the storming version of the Motown classic Heat Wave.

The ‘super-deluxe’ box set traces the path of the classic album from initial demos, the two hit singles, ‘Strange Town’ and ‘When You’re Young’, that preceded the album; alternate versions of songs, dynamic live performances, singles and b-sides, through to the point in early 1980 where the Jam’s sound and success coalesced into ‘Going Underground’ – the band’s first number 1 single.


Disc 1: The Original Album
1. Girl On The Phone
2. Thick As Thieves
3. Private Hell
4. Little Boy Soldiers
5. Wasteland
6. Burning Sky
7. Smithers-Jones
8. Saturday’s Kids
9. The Eton Rifles
10. Heat Wave

The singles & b-sides
11. Strange Town (single)
12. Butterfly Collector (b-side)
13. When You’re Young (single)
14. Smithers-Jones (single version)
15. The Eton Rifles (7” single version)
16. See-Saw (b-side)
17. Going Underground (single)
18. Dreams Of Children (b-side)

Disc 2: The demos and extras
1. Strange Town (alt. version)*
2. When You’re Young (alt. version)
3. The Eton Rifles (demo)(from ‘Extras’ album)
4. See-Saw (demo)*
5. Girl On The Phone (demo)*
6. Thick As Thieves (demo)(from ‘Extras’ album)
7. Private Hell (demo)*
8. Little Boy Soldiers (demo)*
9. Wasteland (demo)*
10. Burning Sky (demo)*
11. Simon (demo)*
12. Strange Town (demo)*
13. The Butterfly Collector (demo)*
14. Burning Sky (demo)(from ‘Extras’ album)
15. When You’re Young (demo)*
16. Best Of Both Worlds (demo)(from ‘Direction, Reaction, Creation’)
17. Along The Grove (demo)*
18. The Eton Rifles (demo)*

BBC – John Peel session, recorded 29/10/1979
19. Thick As Thieves
20. The Eton Rifles
21. Saturday’s Kids
22. When You’re Young

Disc 3: Live at the Brighton Centre – December 1979*
1. Introduction / Girl On The Phone
2. To Be Someone
3. It’s Too Bad
4. Burning Sky
5. Away From The Numbers
6. Smithers-Jones
7. Little Boy Soldiers
8. Strange Town
9. Mr. Clean
10. The Butterfly Collector / Private Hell
11. Thick As Thieves
12. When You’re Young
13. The Eton Rifles
14. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
15. Saturday’s Kids
16. All Mod Cons
17. David Watts
18. The Modern World
19. Heatwave
20. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street

Disc 4: The DVD EP
Promo videos
1. Strange Town
2. Butterfly Collector
3. When You’re Young
4. Going Underground
5. Dreams Of Children

BBC Top Of The Pops
1. Strange Town – 15/03/1979
2. Strange Town – 05/04/1979
3. When You’re Young – 23/08/1979
4. The Eton Rifles – 01/11/1979
5. The Eton Rifles – 15/11/1979
6. Going Underground – 27/03/1980
Something Else (15/09/1979)
1. The Eton Rifles
2. When You’re Young
* Previously unreleased

Purchase HERE! 

%d bloggers like this: