Paul Weller The Jam

The Jam’s SNAP! Collection Reissued on Vinyl!

What many consider the ultimate collection of songs from The Jam is being reissued on vinyl for the first time. SNAP! was originally released in October of ’83, reaching number 2 on the album chart. It would remain on the chart for 30 weeks. A CD re-release in 2006 would again see the compilation reach the Top 10, a testament to how beloved this collection is, and remains amongst fans. Here’s the details on the upcoming release, out October 25, 2019.

Originally released in 1983, Snap! was the first ‘greatest hits’ collection from The Jam and appeared just after Paul Weller took the shock decision to split up the band at the height of their popularity and success.

The title Snap! originates from the production, the A&R team and the band in the studio listening back to recording sessions and deciding if the track had the necessary distinctive Jam ‘snap’ sound to make the cut…!!

The original 29-track album with chronological sequencing clearly illustrates their brief but stunning story, from explosive debut on the embryonic English punk scene and their meteoric rise to become one of the greatest and best-loved British bands.

From their thrilling debut single – In The City to their farewell – Beat Surrender the collection features 16 top-30 singles – 4 number ones!
Features hit singles – Down In The Tube Station At Midnight, Strange Town, When You’re Young, Going Underground, That’s Entertainment, Start!, Town Called Malice , The Eton Rifles and many more. Also includes remarkable B-side tracks such as The Butterfly Collector and Tales from the Riverbank.

Released in a gatefold sleeve, with original artwork – printed inner sleeves and original ‘free’ live 7” EP. Remastered at Abbey Road, first time on vinyl for many years! Includes heavyweight vinyl + download card.

Order from Amazon

%d bloggers like this: